Four books on indigo

I've already written about some of my favorite dyeing books elsewhere. In preparation for the relaunched Indigo Intro-workshop, it's now time for book recommendations specifically on the subject. So, my favorite books about indigo!

Jenny Balfour-Paul: Indigo. Egyptian Mummies to blue Jeans.

A book about the history of indigo, illustrated with numerous photos of wonderful examples of indigo craftsmanship - from Egyptian mummies to jeans.
The author began studying indigo in the 1980s. In the process, she was able to get to know a living indigo culture in various places, which has since disappeared in many places. Starting in Yemen, through Arab and African indigo traditions, and later also in East Asia and India. In addition to history and textile history, there are also chapters on indigo on paper and canvas, in medicine and religion.

The book delves 'deep and wide' into the subject, is filled with many sources and rich literature references and reads very well.
And if you work with this pigment today, whether from your own garden or store bought - then this book offers background knowledge and an insight into the long history of humanity and the precious blue. Because indigo blue is not only beautiful, it has also always been precious - and was a motive for enslavement and exploitation. This is also inextricably linked to indigo.
And after a long look at history, there is also a brief but inspiring look at what the future could look like.

Jenny Balfour-Paul: Indigo*. Egyptian Mummies to blue Jeans. The British Museum Press, 1998 (my copy is the 3rd edition, reprint 2016)

Kerstin Neumüller, Douglas Luhanko: Indigo. Cultivate, dye, create

Translated from Swedish into English and German. As you flick through the pages, you immediately notice how well designed this book is!
It is a great book even for beginners, as the recipes are clearly described. There are also chapters on the history and 'how' of blue dyeing, limited to the essentials and written in a very accessible way.
The book starts even before the dyeing, introducing three indigo plants and giving tips on how to grow your own. Among its recipes for vats, there are also instructions for a fermentation vat, which I find is not often the case.
The only downside for me is that the recommended ingredients include sodium dithionite (with corresponding safety instructions, of course), which I wouldn't recommend for home use - because there are so many alternatives to it, I don't think it's absolutely necessary at this point.

And if you like specific tutorials, this is probably the perfect book for you, as it concludes with instructions on shibori techniques for blue and white patterns and embroidery on indigo.

Kerstin Neumüller, Douglas Luhanko: Indigo.* Cultivate, dye, create Haupt Verlag, 2020

Joy Boutrup, Catharine Ellis: The Art and Science of Natural Dyes. Principles, Experiments, and Results.

This is the book I pick up most often when I want to start a new vat, or activate an older one!
For intermediate dyer's I think it is a benchmark on the subject of plant dyes. As the title suggests, it's not just about indigo, but offers even more. However, the indigo chapter is substantial.
It explains the mechanism of indigo dyeing, different ways to set it in motion and, in addition to the theory, has lots of practical tips on the size of the vat, amount of pigment, temperature... The whole thing is very compact and clear. What I really appreciate: The recipes are for organic and mineral vats; harsher ingredients are omitted. (Fermentation vats are not discussed however.) If you also want to experiment with reserve pastes for blue printing, you will find two recipes in this book.

Joy Boutrup, Catharine Ellis: The Art and Science of Natural Dyes.* Principles, Experiments, and Results. Schiffer Publishing, 2018

John Marshall: Soulful Dyeing for All Eternity. Singing the Blues.

Finally, a little gem, self-published by the author. John Marshall has been dyeing with indigo since the 1970s and spent many years studying in Japan.
And this book with just under 90 pages is dedicated to everything that can be done with fresh or 'raw' indigo leaves - from Dyer's knotweed in particular.
There are various methods for dyeing with fresh leaves, but also instructions for dried leaves. Experimental composting of the leaves is presented using a thermo-composter on a 'small' scale (small compared to traditional Sukumo, fermented indigo leaves, in Japan), for which the author used as much as 35 kg of dry leaves.
There are three different recipes for fermentation vats, using fermented and fresh leaves, and chapters on working with pigment for textile design. Everywhere there are little practical tips (and a joke here and there...) from the author.
There are lots of ideas for anyone who can harvest knotweed themselves, and it's fun to browse through.

John Marshall: Soulful Dyeing for All Eternity. Singing the Blues. St. Titus Press, 2018

*Affiliate links: If you buy a book via links marked with *, I receive a small commission from buch7.dethe price for you remains the same. Ordering from buch7.de supports social, cultural and ecological projects..



Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ENGLISH

Vier Bücher über Indigo

An anderer Stelle habe ich schon mal über einige meiner liebsten Färbebücher geschrieben. Passend zum Indigo Intro-Workshop ist es jetzt an der Zeit für Buchtipps speziell zum Thema. Also, meine Lieblingsbücher über Indigo!

Jenny Balfour-Paul: Indigo. Egyptian Mummies to blue Jeans.

Hier geht es um die Geschichte Indigos, bebildert mit zahlreichen Fotos wunderbarer Beispiele von Indigo-Handwerk – eben von ägyptischen Mumien bis zur Jeans.
Die Autorin begann in der 1980er Jahren, Indigo zu studieren. Und konnte dabei an verschiedenen Orten noch eine lebendige Indigo-Kultur kennenlernen, die seitdem vielerorts so nicht mehr existiert. Ausgehend von Jemen, über arabische und afrikanische Indigo-Tradition, später auch in Ostasien und Indien. Neben Geschichte und Textilgeschichte gibt es auch Kapitel zu Indigo auf Papier und Leinwand, und in Medizin und Glauben.

Das Buch beschäftigt sich ‘tief und weit’ mit dem Thema, ist mit vielen Quellen und reichen Literaturverweisen bestückt und liest sich dabei sehr gut – das leider nur auf Englisch, soweit ich weiß wurde es nicht übersetzt ins Deutsche.
Und wenn du heute mit diesem Pigment arbeitest, sei es aus dem eigenen Garten oder gekauft – dann bietet dieses Buch Hintergrundwissen und einen Einblick in die lange Geschichte der Menschen mit dem kostbaren Blau. Denn das Blau ist nicht nur schön, es war auch jeher kostbar – und war Motiv für Versklavung und Ausbeutung. Auch das gehört untrennbar zu Indigo.
Und nach einem langen Blick in die Geschichte gibt es auch einen kurzen, aber inspirierenden Ausblick darauf, wie die Zukunft aussehen könnte.

Jenny Balfour-Paul: Indigo*. Egyptian Mummies to blue Jeans. The British Museum Press, 1998 (mein Exemplar ist die 3. Auflage, Reprint 2016)

Kerstin Neumüller, Douglas Luhanko: Indigo. Anbau, Färbetechniken, Projekte.

Das einzig auch auf Deutsch erschienene Buch in dieser Reihe, übersetzt aus dem Schwedischen. Beim Durchblättern fällt hier sofort auf, wie wunderbar dieses Buch gestaltet ist!
Ich würde es außerdem auch für Anfänger*innen empfehlen, die Rezepte sind klar beschrieben. Und auch zur Geschichte und dem ‘Wie’ des Blaufärbens gibt es Kapitel, aufs Wesentliche beschränkt und sehr zugänglich geschrieben.
Das Buch setzt noch vor dem Färben an, es stellt drei Indigopflanzen vor und gibt Tipps zum eigenen Anbau. Unter den Rezepten für Küpen gibt es auch eine Anleitung für eine fermentierte Küpe!
Wermutstropfen für mich: Zu den empfohlenen Zutaten gehört hier auch Natriumdithionit (natürlich mit entsprechenden Sicherheitshinweisen), das ich für den Hausgebrauch nicht empfehlen würde – weil es so viele Alternativen dazu gibt, finde ich das an der Stelle auch nicht unbedingt notwendig.

Und wer gern noch konkrete Tutorials mag, für den ist das wahrscheinlich das perfekte Buch, denn es schließt ab mit Anleitungen zu Shiboritechniken für blau-weiße Muster und Stickerei auf Indigo.

Kerstin Neumüller, Douglas Luhanko: Indigo.* Anbau, Färbetechniken, Projekte. Haupt Verlag, 2020

Joy Boutrup, Catharine Ellis: The Art and Science of Natural Dyes. Principles, Experiments, and Results.

Dieses Buch nehme ich am häufigsten in die Hand, wenn ich mal wieder eine Küpe ansetzen möchte, oder eine ältere aktivieren!
Auch das ist leider nur auf Englisch erschienen – vielleicht ändert sich das noch, denn ich finde, es ist ein Standardwerk zum Thema Pflanzenfarben. Es geht, der Titel legt es nahe, nicht nur um Indigo, sondern bietet noch mehr. Das Indigokapitel ist aber gehaltvoll.
Es erklärt den Mechanismus der Blaufärberei, verschiedene Möglichkeiten diesen in Gang zu setzen, und hat neben der Theorie viele praktische Hinweise zu Größe der Küpe, Menge von Pigment, Temperatur… Das Ganze dabei sehr kompakt und übersichtlich. Was ich sehr schätze: Die Rezepte sind für organische und mineralische Küpen, auf harschere Zutaten wird an dieser Stelle verzichtet. (Fermentationsküpen werden nicht thematisiert.) Wer auch noch mit Reserve-Pasten experimentieren möchte für Blaudruck, findet dafür gleich zwei Rezepte.

Joy Boutrup, Catharine Ellis: The Art and Science of Natural Dyes.* Principles, Experiments, and Results. Schiffer Publishing, 2018

John Marshall: Soulful Dyeing for All Eternity. Singing the Blues.

Als letztes noch ein kleines Juwel, selbst publiziert durch den Autor. John Marshall färbt schon seit den 1970ern mit Indigo, hat viele Jahre in Japan gelernt.
Und dieses Büchlein (mit knapp 90 Seiten) widmet sich all dem, was man mit frischen oder ‘rohen’ Indigoblättern – vom Färberknöterich insbesondere – anstellen kann.
Dabei sind verschiedene Methoden für das Färben mit frischen Blättern, aber auch Anleitungen für getrocknete Blätter. Die experimentelle Kompostierung der Blätter wird vorgestellt mit einem Thermokomposter in ‘kleinem’ Umfang (klein im Vergleich zu traditionellem Sukumo, fermentierten Indigoblättern, in Japan), für die der Autor immerhin 35kg trockene Blätter verwendet hat.
Es sind drei verschiedene Rezepte für Fermentationsküpen enthalten, für fermentierte wie frische Blätter, und Kapitel zum Arbeiten mit Pigment zur Textilgestaltung. Überall gibt es kleine Praxistipps (und hier und da einen Scherz…) vom Autor.
Gibt viele Ideen für alle, die Färberknöterich selbst ernten können, und macht beim Durchschmökern auch einfach Vergnügen.

John Marshall: Soulful Dyeing for All Eternity. Singing the Blues. St. Titus Press, 2018

*Partner-Links: Wenn du ein Buch über mit *markierte Links kaufst, bekomme ich eine kleine Provision von meinem Partner buch7.de, der Preis für dich bleibt gleich. Die Bestellung über den sozialen Buchhandel buch7.de unterstützt soziale, kulturelle und ökologische Projekte.



Kommentare

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert

DEUTSCH